Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand > Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ)
Reload this Page >

NZQA Assessment for Gas Engineer qualifications help

NZQA Assessment for Gas Engineer qualifications help

Old Apr 24th 2013, 2:40 pm
Just Joined

V_Lelia is an unknown quantity at this point
Default NZQA Assessment for Gas Engineer qualifications help

Hi
I’m a newbie to this site and I am in the process of trying to get my husband’s Gas Engineer qualifications assessed by NZQA.

Both myself and my husband have well over the 100 points requirement, so one of us just needs a job offer to hopefully be accepted under the Skilled Migrant Visa category. We are thinking, rightly or wrongly, that he would have more success getting a job quicker and so are plan is to have him as the lead applicant. I am a Marketing Manager, so 2 a penny!

He is Gas Safe registered (previously Corgi), ACS qualified with CCN 1; CEN 1; CKR 1; HTR 1; and CPA 1. He also has a City & Guilds Level 2 qualification in Domestic Natural Gas Instillation & Maintenance.

With regard to work experience he has 2 years’ experience as a trainee then a further 3 years after becoming fully qualified and Gas Safe registered.

Most of his experience is as a Service & Breakdown engineer rather than an installer, not sure if this makes a difference!?

What I want to know is what supporting information is he going to need for the NZQA assessment and also are his qualification/experience enough for him to gain a Gas Fitters licence in NZ?

I have also read about a Provisional Gas Fitters Licence, is this something he can get while still in the UK?

Also my sister lives in Auckland and we are planning on traveling out to New Zealand and staying with her while we look for work and then apply for a work visa while in the country.

Any help/advice much appreciated
Old Apr 29th 2013, 1:44 pm
Queen of the Underworld