NZ skilled migrant

Old May 26th 2012, 9:02 pm
Just Joined

me-NZ is an unknown quantity at this point
Default NZ skilled migrant

Hi

I just did the points thing on the immigration website and scored 65 - yes I know, pants score! When I selected "working in NZ less than 12 months" I got 125

My question is - if I were to get a 3 month visa and an invitation to work could I.....

a) extend that visa after 3 months if the company I work for still need me?

OR

b) apply once I get there and qualify for 125 points? what's the chances of being accepted before the 3 months visa ran out?

I'm a programmer with 8 years experience which is on the shortage list but lack the relevant qualifications
Old May 26th 2012, 9:36 pm

Location: Wellington - I miss Castles, the NHS & English school system
MrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: NZ skilled migrant

think you may struggle to get a visa within 3mths. My husband was out here and working on a works visa and it still took over 3mths to get the PR through. Our application was started in UK and transferred across for the blueys to be put in.

From our experience the only way husband could secure a job (IT field) was to physically be in NZ for the interviews. he had a number of Agency Interviews, phone and Skype whilst still in the UK and got told when you're over pop in. Even when approaching companies direct it was we'll meet for a coffee and chat when your over. I think potential employers want to meet face to face to see how you would fit into the team.