Newbie Needs Help

Old Jun 1st 2008, 7:20 pm
Just Joined

DebsN has a brilliant futureDebsN has a brilliant futureDebsN has a brilliant futureDebsN has a brilliant futureDebsN has a brilliant futureDebsN has a brilliant future
Smile Newbie Needs Help

I'm a newbie to this site, and I have to say I think it is fantastic.

I am looking into emmigrating to NZ and need some advice.

A few of my queries are:

Can I go to NZ on a 6 month tourist visa and look for work while I'm there?

Would I need to submit and EOI before doing this or can this be done if I get a job while out there?

I have looked into how many points I could get and to be honest I'm not really sure if I am answering the questions correctly, as the result I get vary. I did get a free online assessment done by a no visa no fee agent and they got my points to 165. Would it be worth paying the agent to submit my EOI only?

On a more personal note, I am planning this move on my own. Any recommendations on where I should look, North or South? Has anybody else done this on there own, as looking through this website it seems to be couples or families?

Looking forward to reading your advice.
Deb
Old Jun 1st 2008, 8:45 pm
Queen of the Underworld

Persephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Newbie Needs Help

Hi DebsN and welcome to the site

I'll try and answer:

If you go over there on a tourist visa then you can look for work but obviously cannot do any work unless you get either PR or a temp work visa.