British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   New Zealand Immigration Process (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/new-zealand-immigration-process-850927/)

sealy Jan 17th 2015 12:24 pm

New Zealand Immigration Process

Hi all,

I am a new member. I want to find out about the possibility of emigrating to NZ.

I am a recent graduate of civil engineering. I understand my occupation is on the "long term skill shortage list". I've done some research but found it confusing. My occupation is in the shortage list (but there is a short term list as well!). I think it is also on the absolute shortage list.

Does this mean I can claim points for being on long term list as well as on the absolute list?

The process seems to be much like Australia's where you submit expression of interest. But I believe I have to pay about $500 when submitting EOI unlike Australia's system which is free for EIO submission.

I dont think I have to assess my skills because i did my degree at a top uk university which is accredited so can go through washington accord?

Another question is about settlement, if my occupation is on the long term list would I get permanent residency (like Australia) or a short term work visa which I found on their website.

escapedtonz Jan 18th 2015 5:43 am

Re: New Zealand Immigration Process

There are actually 3 shortage lists :-

LTSSL (Long Term Skill Shortage List)
This identifies occupations where there is a sustained and on-going shortage of highly skilled workers both globally and throughout New Zealand.

CSSL (Canterbury Skill Shortage List)
This list contains occupations in critical shortage in the Canterbury region following the 2010 and 2011 earthquakes. It draws on the occupations on the Immediate and Long Term Skill Shortage Lists relevant to the Canterbury rebuild.