British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   Neewbie to forum, lots of questions (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/neewbie-forum-lots-questions-635938/)

DavenHelen Oct 15th 2009 10:14 pm

Neewbie to forum, lots of questions

Hi all I have just had my NZQA PAR (Pre-assessment Result ) and they have recognised my Computer Science degree as a level 7 degree - 50 points.

I have over 16 years ICT experience and slightly confused, can I claim points for both experience in a future growth area & absolute skills shortage, which I think I qualify with (ICT Professionals (261111 to 263312)) ?

I also worked on a short term contract in Auckland 10 years ago whilst on a < 30's working holiday visa, can I claim 5 points for that experience or does it have to be over 1 year?

Final question is really a timeline question, From submission of EOI - ITA and then to approval, medicals police clearance etc how long does the selection process take ?
Then do I have to get myself & family over within a 12 month period and find a job.

All very scary/exciting but we are going for it.

Hope someone can help with above questions.

littleal Oct 16th 2009 4:47 am

Re: Neewbie to forum, lots of questions

Originally Posted by DavenHelen (Post 8019982)
Hi all I have just had my NZQA PAR (Pre-assessment Result ) and they have recognised my Computer Science degree as a level 7 degree - 50 points.

I have over 16 years ICT experience and slightly confused, can I claim points for both experience in a future growth area & absolute skills shortage, which I think I qualify with (ICT Professionals (261111 to 263312)) ?

I also worked on a short term contract in Auckland 10 years ago whilst on a < 30's working holiday visa, can I claim 5 points for that experience or does it have to be over 1 year?