Job offer under SMC. Help please.

Old Apr 30th 2014, 6:48 pm
Just Joined

james.mcd is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Job offer under SMC. Help please.

Hi folks, so glad to have found this forum, lots of great info on here!

I have a couple of questions that i can't seem to find an answer to.

I have been over to NZ for a year on my IEP visa, i am about to hit 35 now so my girlfriend (of 13 years) and i feel we are ready to move to NZ from the UK. I am a chef to trade with many years experience, i also have a trade in the building industry as a plasterer, I learnt this trade through my fathers business and have been jumping between the 2 trades for years.

I am very confident to get a job offer from my previous employer in NZ as a chef, when i apply this job offer to the point system i get over 140. I have read that some people who have submit EOI can take up to and over a year.

My first question is that, if i get a job offer and they require that i start in say 2 months... i then submit my EOI at the same time as my job offer and my EOI takes 6 months. What would happen to my EOI application as my job offer is no longer available?

My girlfriend is still eligible for the IEP visa from Bunac. I was thinking if i go over to NZ on a visitor visa with her, can i submit a EOI whilst in NZ? Hopefully she would secure a job and get sponsorship etc etc. and help with my points?

Just want to find out what options i have to make the move.

Thank you
Old Apr 30th 2014, 7:19 pm
Queen of the Underworld

Persephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond repute