British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   Is Job for main applicant necessary after PR/WTR (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/job-main-applicant-necessary-after-pr-wtr-707637/)

Rockey Mar 2nd 2011 10:22 am

Is Job for main applicant necessary after PR/WTR

Hi All,

I have a quick question..Me and My husband both can apply for SMC as main applicant with enough points. I do not want to work after going to NZ . If I become main applicant then is it necessary for me to do job after getting PR/WTR ? or secondary applicant (my husband ) in my case is ok if he work and I do not ?

hazeandsteve Mar 13th 2011 6:46 am

Re: Is Job for main applicant necessary after PR/WTR

No.
I qualified as main applicant on points alone, and explained during my telephone interview that as a skilled engineer, I was confident I would find work.
Came over, found work.

Good luck.

chippy64 Mar 13th 2011 8:07 pm

I think it would depend. On our SMC visa, there was a proviso that my OH (who was the main applicant) had to work within 3 months for a period of at least 3 months. He then sent proof - wage slips etc to show he had done this. Immigration then said that he now had to prove that his employment was sustainable (?) or something. So his employer wrote a letter saying he envisaged that he would be working for them long term.

Haven't had a reply as it was all given into ChCh office a week before the Feb Earthquake.

So, just make sure you read the small print on your blue sticker! :)

robbyarg Apr 11th 2011 6:21 am