British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   immigration visas (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/immigration-visas-681070/)

gedsy Aug 13th 2010 4:17 pm

immigration visas

hi, hoping to come over to NZ in Jan 2011. Exploring different ways of coming over, currently awaiting a phone call from an immigration consultant based at NZ House regarding a skilled migrant visa, do the health checks and xrays have to be completed in the UK as they are quite costly. Can they be done when you are working over in NZ, i am a nurse and will be coming over with my husband and child.:thumbup:

Newfies Aug 14th 2010 4:09 am

Re: immigration visas

If it is a permenant move that you are looking to make then I would recommend that you go down the route or permenant residency visa. As a nurse you will easily obtain more than enough point for the EOI.

Especially if you can get a job offer before you leave. That is easy to do as all the DHB will interview you over the phone one you have sent off application forms which is all done via the web. All you need to do it take a look at what area you think will suit you and your family best.

As for medicals I am under the impression that no matter what visa you apply for you will need a medical. It will also be easier and cheaper to get them done back in the UK, but well worth phoning around and getting prices as they can be more expensive in one area to another. Even adding the cost of fuel to travel to an approved center will sometimes be cheaper that the closest on to where you live.

The other reason as to why I said about getting a PR visa is that it will only be one set of medical checks. If you were to go down another visa rout you could well incur 2 medical costs.

HTH.

gedsy Aug 17th 2010 8:04 am

Originally Posted by gedsy (Post 8775057)