British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   Immigration Options (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/immigration-options-812642/)

jim1 Oct 20th 2013 2:36 am

Immigration Options

Hi,

Me and my partner are hoping to move to New Zealand for 1-3 years and I'm just looking for a bit of info and advice. We're both in our 20s, she's in marketing, I'm a web developer and we currently live in Canada (I'm British, she's Canadian). We'd both like jobs that are related to our skills. My initial research leads me to believe we have 3 options:
  • Working holiday visa - temporary work only. Canadians can only get 1 year, British can get 2.
  • Silver fern visa - only 300 places, very hard to get. I've read you might as well just do the following option
  • Travel as a tourist + look for company willing to apply for a work permit

Am I missing anything? A couple of questions regarding the above options:
  1. Would there be any way to stay on after a working holiday visa? Can you obtain a regular work permit whilst on one?
  2. Is option 3 even possible? How long are you allowed in the country as a tourist? What are the timescales for being approved a work permit following a job offer? Is it costly and how likely is it to be approved? For instance in Canada this option would not be viable as the company has to prove they cannot hire a Canadian and it takes 3 months.

Any advice/info much appreciated.

Cheers

MrsFychan Oct 20th 2013 3:22 am

Re: Immigration Options