British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   How to become Resident if not working in NZ? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/how-become-resident-if-not-working-nz-497708/)

SmogMonster Dec 3rd 2007 8:28 pm

How to become Resident if not working in NZ?

After many years of umming and ahhing, we're looking a bit more seriously into moving to NZ. I have a sister lives there and weve been a couple of times with half an eye on it would be like to live there. The biggest problem i can find is that neither the wife or i will be working in NZ, so i cant see how we'd get in! The better half and i are both UK Registered Nurses, which is obviously in demand in NZ, however i work as an Offshore Medic aboard a drilling rig off West Africa, doing a 4on/4off rota..which i will continue to work as it gives me a very nice salary, much more than our combined nurses salary would ever be in either the UK or NZ. We have 2 kids as well, maybe another in the future, so the missus wont be working either. We would both be quite prepared to register with the NZ Nursing Council if it would help at all. So my problem is how would we get a residence permit if neither of us are actually working in NZ. I will gladly be paying (lots) of NZ tax, and would be bringing in a lot of money each to the economy, but cannot see a way around it. Any clues from your collective expertise?

happynz Dec 3rd 2007 9:10 pm

Re: How to become Resident if not working in NZ?

Yo Smoggy,

If you have enough points without a job offer there is probably nothing to stop you from applying. There is no law saying you have to work once here.

SmogMonster Dec 4th 2007 8:12 am