British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   Help with EOI (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/help-eoi-516614/)

Stephen Jones Feb 23rd 2008 4:43 pm

Help with EOI

Can anyone out there help with a qualifications/EOI question?

I have many years IT experience (18+) but don't have a degree only an HNC. Would it really be worth my while to submit an EOI without a job offer?

Steve

Maz Feb 23rd 2008 6:11 pm

Re: Help with EOI

How many points do you have without a job offer?

Stephen Jones Feb 25th 2008 8:25 am

Originally Posted by Maz (Post 5974246)
How many points do you have without a job offer?

Good question...

Depending upon which calculator you use up to 105.

It's hard to tell though as I've heard people say that on the EOI itself they have scored fewer points that on non-EOI calculators and I don't want to part with good money just for the sake if it - hence the question.

Steve

Maz Feb 25th 2008 10:03 am

Hi Steve,

I completely sympathise with your position, I was in the same a year ago. I have a B.A.(Hons) but it's not to do with computing. I now have 9 years' experience in IT (app dev). I didn't have enough points for a successful EOI (115 with no job offer) but we were already over here for a recce and I didn't know we'd got un-selected from the pool ( :( ).

I continued with my job hunt after our return from our recce, however I was beginning to think that we'd have to come over as visitors without a job offer, and take our chances. :eek: :eek: (something I really did not want to do!) We came back from our recce at the end of April 2007 and I got the word from my former employer that I was going to get made redundant pretty much the day I got back!