Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand > Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ)
Reload this Page >

Got "diploma level 6" for my pre-assessment

Got "diploma level 6" for my pre-assessment

Old Jul 10th 2010, 4:13 pm
Banned

askanaan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Got "diploma level 6" for my pre-assessment

Hi everyone,

I am a J2EE developer with six years of experience in this area.

I received my nzqa pre-assessment result today, they told me that my qualification is comparable to a level 6 learning outcome in new zealand.
I was filling my EOI today and i reviewed the long term skill shortage list and i found that "Information technology professionals" requires a BS degree "level 7". how will this affect my EOI? Is there another "Long term skill shortage" that i can map my qualification and exprience to?

Thanks
Old Jul 11th 2010, 6:38 pm
Banned

Default Re: Got "diploma level 6" for my pre-assessment

ok maybe i was asking the wrong question, what I want to know is on what basis does nzqa determine the level of your degree, how can i get a level 7 qualification?

Thanks
Old Jul 11th 2010, 11:16 pm
Near the outer fringe

JohnThePom has a reputation beyond reputeJohnThePom has a reputation beyond reputeJohnThePom has a reputation beyond reputeJohnThePom has a reputation beyond reputeJohnThePom has a reputation beyond reputeJohnThePom has a reputation beyond reputeJohnThePom has a reputation beyond reputeJohnThePom has a reputation beyond reputeJohnThePom has a reputation beyond reputeJohnThePom has a reputation beyond reputeJohnThePom has a reputation beyond repute

I'm guessing that they will rank your awarding body and your qualification against a pre-defined set of criteria, but I dont know if those assessment criteria are public. The best approach might be the simplest of just asking them directly.