British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   Going from work visa to residency (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/going-work-visa-residency-555836/)

fired50 Aug 18th 2008 12:16 am

Going from work visa to residency

I'm a teacher in a new zealand school. I've been working here for 5 weeks now, on a one year work visa. My contract (one year) may well be extended in a years time.

My questions are:

- What's the quickest, easisest way to get residency - I have all police certs and have had a medical completed in the last 2 months before i came out?

- As I'm working in a field that's needed, will an application for residency go through quicker?

- Where do I start?

Regards

F50

scottishnomad Aug 18th 2008 3:37 am

Re: Going from work visa to residency

Originally Posted by fired50 (Post 6689203)
I'm a teacher in a new zealand school. I've been working here for 5 weeks now, on a one year work visa. My contract (one year) may well be extended in a years time.

My questions are:

- What's the quickest, easisest way to get residency - I have all police certs and have had a medical completed in the last 2 months before i came out?

- As I'm working in a field that's needed, will an application for residency go through quicker?

- Where do I start?

Regards

F50

Hi,

Your first step would be to complete a ITA with NZIS, you can do this online. ($400)

Once selected and if selected you will be invited to apply for residancy. At such time, you will to send in all your documents (police, medical, job proof etc..)