British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   EOI returned to pool what steps next? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/eoi-returned-pool-what-steps-next-721811/)

neit Jun 21st 2011 12:37 pm

EOI returned to pool what steps next?

I am looking for some advice on what step to take next.

I submitted my EOI a few weeks ago and it was selected from the pool.
After imigration new zealand assesed my EOI they advised that my
Masters Degree in Computing and information systems was not at the
required level to qualify for extra points.

So they set may EOI points score at 100 and returned it to the pool.

I have been working in IT for the past 8 years and web development for the
past 4 year.

The letter they sent advised if I had a job offer it would greatly increase
your chances of getting a skilled migrant visa. After having a look on seek to get an idea of jobs
currently available all the jobs appear to say you have to have the right to work and live in
new zealand to apply. I am only skimming surface looking at jobs at the moment.

Just wondering how anyone else approached this situation, by the way
it will only be myself that would be going, no family.

After reading the forums for a the last few week, there have been a few threads of peoples experiences of living in new zealand.

Would it be possible to setout the pros and cons of making the switch?

I believe I have also read that if I applied for an australian visa and was
successfully this would also allow me to work and live in new zealand is
this correct?

Rockey Jun 23rd 2011 11:40 am

Re: EOI returned to pool what steps next?

Did you assess your degrees from NZQA, i mean IQA? What level is given to you ?

neit Jun 23rd 2011 4:24 pm

Hi Rockey
thanks for the reply.

The BA degree I have is not application as it is not in ICT and