EOI rejection

Old Sep 29th 2012, 4:57 pm
Just Joined

stevieg_83 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default EOI rejection

We applied about 6-8 weeks ago under the Skilled Migrant category.

After an initial rejection, we appealed on the basis that we had an EOI accepted in 2009. I'm a web designer/developer which is on the LTSSL. I have a bachelor degree in multimedia systems.

However NZIS are claiming my degree is not in the ICT professional category (despite my job being in that category).

A technical advisor has now ruled that this is the case as well. This was what they told me:

Our Technical Advisor completed a comparability assessment of your qualification, and concluded that your qualification is not comparable to the LTSSL requirement for ICT Professional.
So we're stuck at the 130 mark overall for points. We have a trip to NZ in November so hoping to speak to some prospective employers when I'm there but looking for any other advice on whether there's anything else to try.

Thanks,
Steven
Old Sep 30th 2012, 8:19 pm
Forum Regular

HeatherGirl is a name known to allHeatherGirl is a name known to allHeatherGirl is a name known to allHeatherGirl is a name known to allHeatherGirl is a name known to allHeatherGirl is a name known to allHeatherGirl is a name known to allHeatherGirl is a name known to allHeatherGirl is a name known to allHeatherGirl is a name known to allHeatherGirl is a name known to all
Default Re: EOI rejection

Hi Steven

How frustrating for you, why have they changed the goalposts since 2009?

Sounds like a job offer is your best bet as well as your visit in November, I would send speculative applications to as many possible employers as possible before you go. Don't just applied for advertised positions. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

It worked for us, but albeit in a different industry.

Good luck
HeatherGirl
Old Sep 30th 2012, 9:06 pm
Just Joined

stevieg_83 is an unknown quantity at this point