British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   Emigrating Prison Officer (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/emigrating-prison-officer-873994/)

bikerider Mar 8th 2016 7:27 pm

Emigrating Prison Officer

I'm a serving Prison Officer of 12 years and looking to emigrate to the Hawkes Bay area with my family. Is this possible in the current climate and if so can anyone offer any advice regarding job and visa applications, what order to do things etc.

MrsFychan Mar 8th 2016 9:47 pm

Re: Emigrating Prison Officer

its on the list for skilled occupations so you would need to obtain a job offer from an accredited company if you don't have 140 points or over on the EOI point indicator.
https://www.immigration.govt.nz/pointsindicator/

I found this which gives you an idea of what you would be expected to do and salary Corrections Officer - Hawkes Bay Regional Prison job - Department of Corrections - Hawke's Bay | Indeed.com

bikerider Mar 8th 2016 10:10 pm

Thanks for the reply.

I think the Department of Corrections has accredited employer status. I only make 130 points. Is is just a case of applying for a job, getting an offer and then applying for a visa?

Does anyone have experience of applying for Department of Corrections jobs from overseas?

Snap Shot Mar 8th 2016 11:36 pm

There's a poster on this site called, 'Fooferfish' I believe they work for the Dept of Corrections in NZ in Otago, a district on the South Island of New Zealand.

I don't know if they applied for a job in the NZ prison service prior to coming to NZ.

Here's a lovely little linky just for you:

http://britishexpats.com/forum/new-z...Prison+Service

It might not be relevant but it could be useful.

Robbie2010 Mar 8th 2016 11:55 pm