CCNA only qualification??

Old Jun 28th 2012, 6:19 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
dragon_lady_bute's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: West Coast of Scotland
Posts: 72
dragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nice
Default CCNA only qualification??

Hi all,

We are looking into moving (again / still??) but my OH has no degree in IT but about 12 years of experience. He was CCNA certified but it has now expired. We are wondering if there is any point in him re-certifying? Will that give him any extra points or is it not really worth it??

On the same subject, does anyone know what level that would come in at? It seems to just be a level 3 but surely that's not right??

Thanks,


Marion
dragon_lady_bute is offline  
Old Jun 28th 2012, 6:31 pm
  #2  
MODERATOR
 
MrsFychan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Wellington - I miss Castles, the NHS & English school system
Posts: 8,864
MrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: CCNA only qualification??

have you tried the points score without the qualification?

My husband is in IT and not got a degree for it but was able to claim for another degree. husbands points without job offer was 120/125, can't exactly remember but then he was lucky enough to get a job to take him over the magic 140. He applied for a work visa from the job offer to enable him to start work and updated the EOI to include the job offer and was selected.
MrsFychan is offline  
Old Jun 28th 2012, 7:06 pm
  #3  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
dragon_lady_bute's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: West Coast of Scotland
Posts: 72
dragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nice
Default Re: CCNA only qualification??

Hi MrsFychan,

He doesn't have any other qualifications, but even without taking the CCNA into account we would appear to have 120 points, so we would be eligible to submit an EOI. If he gets his CCNA at a level 3 then we would have 160, and 170 if it was a higher level.

He doesn't have any other degrees, unfortunately.

Thanks,


Marion
dragon_lady_bute is offline  
Old Jun 28th 2012, 7:56 pm
  #4  
MODERATOR
 
MrsFychan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Wellington - I miss Castles, the NHS & English school system
Posts: 8,864
MrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: CCNA only qualification??

you would be eligible to submit but without the 140 or a job offer I would say save your money as it is unlikely you would be selected in the 6mths time frame.
has you OH tried looking at getting work?

Mine bite the bullet and came over to attend interviews and was lucky enough to get an offer within the first week.

Note - Attending interviews on a "holiday visa" is seen by some government depts to be ok and to others not so anyone coming over to do that should take the tack that it is just for a holiday and not mention seeking work just to be on the safe side.
MrsFychan is offline  
Old Jun 29th 2012, 6:02 pm
  #5  
BE Enthusiast
 
ellenarosemary's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Upper Hutt, NZ
Posts: 507
ellenarosemary has a reputation beyond reputeellenarosemary has a reputation beyond reputeellenarosemary has a reputation beyond reputeellenarosemary has a reputation beyond reputeellenarosemary has a reputation beyond reputeellenarosemary has a reputation beyond reputeellenarosemary has a reputation beyond reputeellenarosemary has a reputation beyond reputeellenarosemary has a reputation beyond reputeellenarosemary has a reputation beyond reputeellenarosemary has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: CCNA only qualification??

If you dont have over 140 points, a job offer, or can claim points for your job being on the ISSL or the LTSS lists I wouldnt waste your money. If your husband can do it, go over and look for work. Try and arrange some interiews, informal chats with companies etc before you go so that you dont waste the journey. My husband went over in November, having already secured the job via skype, but they wanted to see him to make sure he was committed to the move.

By coming over to NZ his new boss said that 'told him a lot' and as it turned out he was prepared to wait for us to come over when my husband became seriously ill just a couple of days after receiving our PR. He's now almost fully recovered and is going out on the 26th July 2012 to start his new job. His new employer was prepared to wait all this time and I think that was because he had met him - so it pays to talk 'face to face' so to speak.

Good luck
ellenarosemary is offline  
Old Jun 30th 2012, 11:11 am
  #6  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
dragon_lady_bute's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: West Coast of Scotland
Posts: 72
dragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nice
Default Re: CCNA only qualification??

My hubby's job is in IT so it appears to be on the list, but I didn't think he could claim bonus points without the relevant qualification. It is all such a minefield.

We are seriously considering just getting to the stage where we are ready to go financially etc. and just biting the bullet and heading over!

Not sure what the best way forward would be... time will tell.
dragon_lady_bute is offline  
Old Jul 6th 2012, 2:05 am
  #7  
BE Site Lead & Admin
 
BEVS's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Below
Posts: 33,061
BEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond reputeBEVS has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: CCNA only qualification??

What's the occupation ?

Use this to find it. & then search the shortages lists to match it.

I suspect his occupation will be in shortage but as you say, the quals may not match the NZIS requirement.


You may do well to ask about this specific occupation on the main NZ forum as there are several IT folk around that could give you some insight.
BEVS is online now  
Old Jul 7th 2012, 3:27 pm
  #8  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
dragon_lady_bute's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: West Coast of Scotland
Posts: 72
dragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nicedragon_lady_bute is just really nice
Default Re: CCNA only qualification??

Hi Bevs,

That's where it gets more complicated! He specialises in networks and data security but is looking for a managerial job. Not sure what to ask the IT experts!

Thanks,


Marion
dragon_lady_bute is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.