Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand > Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ)
Reload this Page >

The 'Cant get a Visa without a job offer conundrum'

The 'Cant get a Visa without a job offer conundrum'

Old Sep 17th 2013, 9:20 am
Just Joined

HopefulMigrant is an unknown quantity at this point
Question The 'Cant get a Visa without a job offer conundrum'

Hiya,
I am sure I cannot be the only person to have experienced this...

I am looking to emigrate with my young family, but need a job offer before I can submit an EoI which would actually get selected. Without a job offer I can only hit 100 points, so the chances of being randomly selected are presumably very low.

I have many years of IT experience which should get me in, under the SMC, but for every job application I complete,I get a reply suggesting that I have to get a Visa before I can be considered for roles. Even from 'accredited employers'

Can't get a Visa without a job, cant get a job without a Visa

Of course... if anyone wants to offer me a job, it would be appreciated
Old Sep 17th 2013, 8:18 pm

Location: Wellington - I miss Castles, the NHS & English school system
MrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: The 'Cant get a Visa without a job offer conundrum'

employers don't seem to understand the system, you have to inform them of the processes, job offer would get you the visa basically.
and you are correct 100 points would not get you selected at all
Old Sep 17th 2013, 8:55 pm
Just Joined

Thanks MrsFychan - I will have a go at 'informing them' in my cover letters.