British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   British Passport with RRV - Can I Live in NZ (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/british-passport-rrv-can-i-live-nz-570672/)

DizzyDi Nov 2nd 2008 7:42 am

British Passport with RRV - Can I Live in NZ

Hi All
So glad I found this site. Awesome!
Can someone help me out here?
I found reference in another post (2006) that anyone having a RRV or PR Visa for Australia can live indefinitely in NZ.
I've searched to find something more current and I have found one obscure reference on NZ Immigration site, but nothing to confirm this is still the case.
I have a British Passport and I am an Australian Permanent Resident, so I want to know it I can still go to NZ and live there without any other visa requirements.
Can anyone out there confirm that this is still right?
Cheers

P2L Nov 2nd 2008 8:43 am

Re: British Passport with RRV - Can I Live in NZ

Originally Posted by DizzyDi (Post 6932381)
Hi All
I found reference in another post (2006) that anyone having a RRV or PR Visa for Australia can live indefinitely in NZ.
I've searched to find something more current and I have found one obscure reference on NZ Immigration site, but nothing to confirm this is still the case.
I have a British Passport and I am an Australian Permanent Resident, so I want to know it I can still go to NZ and live there without any other visa requirements.
Cheers

If you have indefinite leave to stay in Australia, you are entitled to enter NZ on a one way ticket, which would mean you could settle here.

Try emailing NZIS (link on the right hand side of their home page) They are generally very quick at answering them

Good Luck

DizzyDi Nov 2nd 2008 9:21 am

Hi Kev&Sarah
Thanks so much.
I will email.
Cheers

newkiwi Nov 3rd 2008 2:56 pm

Originally Posted by DizzyDi (Post 6932381)