British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   Best visa route to take... (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/best-visa-route-take-753140/)

alex_onthemove Mar 29th 2012 11:02 am

Best visa route to take...

Hey,

So in the early stages of planning the next big move... My girlfriend and I want to move to NZ (otherwise I'd be posting this somewhere else!!!) but having issues deciding the best way to go about it. So any help/experiences/advice would be much appreciated.

Some background first; We have enough points (140+) on the EOI to go straight through the pool stage, as we are both young (< 30) very qualified (Im a research chemist and she is a statistician, both PhDs) with 2 years work experience and she has close family already living in NZ. This is 140+ without a job offer. BTW we are British, although I currently live in Spain.

The main problem comes with time frame. We are thinking of moving Aug/Sept time as both our work contracts will have finished, so its ideal timing. The immigration website says 3 months processing time, but from what I've read this is VERY unlikely, more like a year. Which would mean signing new contracts and delaying the adventure.

So we have two plans;

Option 1: Apply for SMC and sort out all the paperwork etc (easier said than done) and when the passports are returned apply for 23 month WHV. Then go out to NZ and wait for the good news (hopefully!) whilst travelling and working/making contacts etc. There are possible pit falls here, if any extra info is needed, or we need an interview at the London office etc etc. Anyone think of any more? I guess we wouldnt need to return to the UK to get the stamps, that sort of thing could be done there, correct?

or