Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand > Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ)
Reload this Page >

benefits in doing Skilled Migrants visa vs Work visa

benefits in doing Skilled Migrants visa vs Work visa

Old Mar 26th 2012, 1:43 pm
Forum Regular

jjsebba is just really nicejjsebba is just really nicejjsebba is just really nicejjsebba is just really nicejjsebba is just really nicejjsebba is just really nicejjsebba is just really nicejjsebba is just really nice
Default benefits in doing Skilled Migrants visa vs Work visa

Hi

I am a 34yr old radiation therapist with a potential job in NZ.
I see the EOI is quite expensive, but would it pay me to do it (or not?)
Are there any benefits in doing it this way or would a 2 yr work visa be sufficient?

We are hoping to move to NZ permanently so would be after PR when we were eligible for it.

Thanks in advance.
Old Mar 26th 2012, 7:26 pm
Queen of the Underworld

Persephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond reputePersephone has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: benefits in doing Skilled Migrants visa vs Work visa

The EOI route is expensive but if you want residency and a permanent move then you will have to do it at some point unless you meant the Work To Residence visa when you mentioned 2y Work visa.
A work visa does not offer a direct way into gaining residency whereas the WTR visa does.