Australia PR wants to Visit New Zealand

Old Jan 1st 2011, 11:06 pm
Just Joined

Storm Petrel is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Australia PR wants to Visit New Zealand

I just joined this great forum. I really should have found here sooner!

I am a Permanent Resident of Australia, recently got an interview from a NZ company and decide to have a visit to New Zealand to attend the interview and also to get to know NZ better. I have heard that Australia PR visa holders are granted New Zealand Resident Visa upon arrival in New Zealand.

Two questions in this regard:

1- Considering it is only a visit, will I still be granted a resident visa? Or will they issue me a visitor visa instead of a resident one as my goal is to visit New Zealand at this stage (I mean, I may or may not get the job)? I'd like to have the residency of New Zealand as it boosts my CV when I apply for jobs in NZ.

2- If I want to get a NZ Resident visa, what pre-arrangements do I need to do before travelling to New Zealand? For example, should I:

a) fill an application and attend an interview with New Zealand embassy in Australia before I actually travel to NZ?

b) obtain Health Clearance/Police Clearance to show at Auckland airport?

Thank you in anticipation.

Last edited by Storm Petrel; Jan 1st 2011 at 11:46 pm.
Old Jan 1st 2011, 11:56 pm
Forum Regular

rushmere is a name known to allrushmere is a name known to allrushmere is a name known to allrushmere is a name known to allrushmere is a name known to allrushmere is a name known to allrushmere is a name known to allrushmere is a name known to allrushmere is a name known to allrushmere is a name known to allrushmere is a name known to all
Default Re: Australia PR wants to Visit New Zealand

Originally Posted by Storm Petrel View Post
I just joined this great forum. I really should have found here sooner!