Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand > Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ)
Reload this Page >

Applying for Temp Visa & EOI at same time

Applying for Temp Visa & EOI at same time

Old Mar 2nd 2012, 7:50 pm
Just Joined

taless is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Applying for Temp Visa & EOI at same time

Hi all,

I'm new to this forum. Have been reading it, it really contains a wealth of information!

I am a junior doctor who has got an offer from Auckland to start in August. Plan is to move there long term to join my girlfriend who moved there a few years ago!

However, as I need to deal with my medical registration (I need to have about 10 months of work experience in the UK first before being fully registered with UK's General Medical Council - and then only can I apply for Medical Council NZ registration), I can realistically only start applying for visas (either Work Visa or Residency) in late June/July.

As medical training in most places are catered for citizens/residents (and work permit holders are only considered later), I do intend to get my Residency ASAP. I will have 150 points if I do submit an EOI. But the problem is by late June, I may not have enough time for a decision to be made with regards to Residency, hence I have a plan of applying for temporary work visa & EOI at same time.

My plan is to start applying for an EOI in mid to late May, hopefully get an ITA in June, start getting all my required documents (police certificate, medical checks as well as Medical Council NZ registration), then apply for Residency in July/August. (I will also apply for Temp Work Visa in late June/early July).

1. Will my plan above work?

2. If it does work, I have a few questions:
a. Regarding the ITA - if the ITA is issued by London, must I reply to the ITA in London? Or can I have the ITA transferred to Auckland, so I can apply there if required (i.e. enter Auckland with work visa, then only respond to ITA in Auckland)?