British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   Advise on WHV (12 month or 23 month) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/advise-whv-12-month-23-month-801415/)

beckiwoo Jun 28th 2013 10:01 am

Advise on WHV (12 month or 23 month)

Hi

I am new to the New Zealand forum. Basically my plan A is to get the Canada WHV next year but obviously they are limited so no guarantee!

My plan B is New Zealand WHV as they are unlimited. I see that if you go for the 23 month visa you need a medical and Xray.

Does anyone know roughly how much both of these will cost?

If i decided to go for a 12 month visa and then extend whilst out in New Zealand, would it be easy for me to get the medicals done out there?

In regards to working, is the visa like the Australian one where you can only work for one employer for up to 6 months or can you work with the same employer throughout the visa duration?

Are there any stipulations on jobs you are unable to undertake out there on the WHV - for example I am a childrens care worker/youth worker in this country, would I be able to apply for similar positions in New Zealand under the WHV

Thanks for your help

:)

MrsFychan Jun 28th 2013 10:44 am

Re: Advise on WHV (12 month or 23 month)

medicals vary in prices if you want to get a 23mth visa straight off you will have to look at the list of approved clinics in your area and ring round.
If you go for a 12th mth visa then want to extend whilst here its easier and cheaper to get the medicals here.

not sure about employers but do believe that you are only allowed to work for a limited amount of months, you would have to check on the Immigration website for legalities of what you can and can't do.

Pinksar Jun 28th 2013 2:08 pm