British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/)
-   -   43 years old looking at Temporary visit to work 12 months + (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-visas-nz-108/43-years-old-looking-temporary-visit-work-12-months-913852/)

bxpuser164728469185029 Jun 12th 2018 6:32 pm

43 years old looking at Temporary visit to work 12 months +

Hi
the wife and I are both too old for a working holiday visa but would like to visit and live / work in nz for a year with our 2 young children.
Whats the best way to go about this ?
im a service delivery manager in IT
She’s a paramedic both have 15 years experience in our respective jobs

simonsi Jun 13th 2018 3:21 am

Re: 43 years old looking at Temporary visit to work 12 months +

I'd be very wary as to whether that will work in practice, as the WH visa isn't available and you only want a year (so the time/money investment in getting a skilled migrant visa looks onerous), you would be left needing job offers in order to be able to uplift any work visa. Paramedics in NZ would be almost totally employed by either the St John Ambulance or the Wellington Free Ambulance, both charities. The job market for IT Service Delivery Managers looks to me to be fairly loose at the moment so it might take some time (3-6mths maybe), to obtain an offer - even if you were in-country and with the right already to work here.

I'm assuming you can both take 1yr sabbaticals from your current roles so definitely have work to return to in the UK afterwards?

Most employers will probably not want to invest the time into hiring into such roles if they know you only intend to spend such a short time here IMHO, especially as you won't be in-country to apply in person - and the only route you have for that would be to arrive as a visitor on a job-search.

BEVS Jun 13th 2018 6:24 am