work permits

Old Jan 29th 2013, 10:11 am
Just Joined

scottiedog2013 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default work permits

hello there,

I''ve read wiki so sorry if I've missed the answers but I'm looking for some quick advice. as I've said in my other post - I work as a heavy equipment operator and a truck driver. I only have 4 months truck driver experience.

I have enquired about jobs and one company have told me to contact them once I'm more ready to move. they have jobs which have lmo

basically I'm wondering since I'm classed as Noc C how long would my partner have to wait before she would be able to work? it could be a deal breaker if it's a long time. she's young enough to use a working holiday visa for employment though.

sorry for the questions but I'm completely new to all this!

cheers
Old Jan 29th 2013, 10:51 am
SUPER MODERATOR

christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: work permits

Which province would you be moving to?

Most provinces wouldn't allow her to get a Spousal Open Work Permit as your job isn't classed as 'skilled', but there are a few provinces that have pilot programs in place, see here - http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/work/occupations.asp

Put simply, unless you move to one of the provinces that has a special program in place as per the link above, she can't work unless she gets a visa in her own right, or until she gets PR (and do look in to that too, as not all provinces would allow you to apply for PR as a truck driver either).

HTH.
Old Jan 29th 2013, 11:14 am
Just Joined