Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

work limits on a Study permit outside of term

work limits on a Study permit outside of term

Old Oct 27th 2021, 7:37 am
BE Enthusiast

Stumpylegs has a reputation beyond reputeStumpylegs has a reputation beyond reputeStumpylegs has a reputation beyond reputeStumpylegs has a reputation beyond reputeStumpylegs has a reputation beyond reputeStumpylegs has a reputation beyond reputeStumpylegs has a reputation beyond reputeStumpylegs has a reputation beyond reputeStumpylegs has a reputation beyond reputeStumpylegs has a reputation beyond reputeStumpylegs has a reputation beyond repute
Default work limits on a Study permit outside of term

Hi there, so I'm currently a first year student at university on a study permit which allows working on or off campus. up to 20 hours during study times, but unlimited work outside of that.

My question is when exactly does the outside of that bit kick in?

So for example this semester effectively my last lecture is the Nov 29th, I have an optional exam prep class on the Dec 6th and my last exam is the Dec 13th?

The universities last day of classes is Dec 6th, their exam period runs until the 16th, but the university is still open for library etc, and doesn't close until Dec 24th.

Just wondering what date would be the point where I could up my hours at work to get some extra cash in over Christmas? reading IRCC website states:

the break must be part of the DLI’s academic calendar (for instance, winter and summer holidays, Reading Week).

Which would suggest the 24th but then checking individual universities websites (mine doesn't have anything on the matter) some are saying its the day following the end of the exam period.