Word of advice - IELTS

Old Jul 26th 2005, 2:46 am
Forum Regular

bartM will become famous soon enough
Default Word of advice - IELTS

Well, I got my PR a couple of months ago and then I ordered CAIPS just to see how things went. It arrived today and let me tell you, I got mighty surprised at some stuff that CIC did. First of all, they only counted my Canadian experience towards the exp points (Ericsson in Sweden and NASA in USA not good enough for CIC, apparently). The worst thing, however, was that they granted me only 8 points for English. I submitted tons of evidence: the list of my publications, Cambridge Proficiency Certificate, letter from my employer and evidence I worked as a translator - all that crap and the officer assessed my language skills as moderate! I ended up with 78 points anyway (wheee!) but it was a close call at the IA.

So guys, let me reiterate what Andrew and others always say: if you're close to the cutoff, TAKE THE DAMN IELTS! Now in the retrospective I can say I should have taken it. Ignorance is a bliss sometimes...
Old Jul 26th 2005, 9:24 pm
Every day is a new day...

amancharan has a reputation beyond reputeamancharan has a reputation beyond reputeamancharan has a reputation beyond reputeamancharan has a reputation beyond reputeamancharan has a reputation beyond reputeamancharan has a reputation beyond reputeamancharan has a reputation beyond reputeamancharan has a reputation beyond reputeamancharan has a reputation beyond reputeamancharan has a reputation beyond reputeamancharan has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Word of advice - IELTS

Originally Posted by bartM