British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration & Citizenship (Canada) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-canada-33/)
-   -   Where to start on moving :-) help (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-canada-33/where-start-moving-help-805094/)

Steven and Gill Hannah Aug 5th 2013 11:31 am

Where to start on moving :-) help

Hiya.

I am new to this forum. My husband and I are hoping to move out to Canada as soon as we can get the process started.

Trying to read and understand where to start is mind boggling :confused:

Firstly can you apply for a visa before either of us have a job offer?

A little bit about us : we are 26 and 30 and planing to move to Ontario. Toronto/Hamilton/ Burlington area or round about there.

I am a registered staff nurse with 6 years full time experience with a degree and my husband is an instrumentation engineer with about 9 years experience.

We are coming out in the end of September to stay with friends who have moved out in march and they just love it which is making me jealous lol.:)

My husband is hoping to speak with a company he used to work with here in scotland but obviously he is not guaranted a job offer.

So the question is: what is the first thing we should look into?

Help help lol

Thanks gill

Mikeypm Aug 5th 2013 11:56 am

Re: Where to start on moving :-) help

Someone may correct me but your options would be the IEC 1 working holiday visa, if your partner got a job offer he could get an LMO get a temp Work Permit and depending on his NOC skill level you may be able to get a spousal work permit. You are aware as a nurse you will need to study for the locally recognised certifications and so that can take time and is not as simple as walking into a job. Also in Canada they have technicians and Peng accredited engineers so may well be your husband may need to do some certification to get his foot in the door with employers.