What would you do???

Old Jan 6th 2008, 4:28 am
Forum Regular

gjspain will become famous soon enoughgjspain will become famous soon enough
Default What would you do???

Hi there, I would like your help and tell me what you would do.
This is the situation.
I am a Retail manager, but i have had experience working in Hospitality, I am wanting to move to Canada, I have paid for the services of an immigration consultant who has told me that they will be taking my application through the skilled worker route. They have all my paperwork now ready, I have had a couple of interviews with companies who they have said they are very interested in me , But no offer of work , As they are waiting to see if they get a positive LMO before they will interview me again. And so i keep waiting and waiting, (I know some of you guys are used to waiting but i am not , like a bull in a china shop.) Anyway i know the wait for an lmo is 28 weeks in Alberta.
But another agent working for my consultant rang me yesterday with a job opportunity, working in a hotel. Not a management position , so the wages would be 14$ an hour , not the salary i was hoping to get, However he said to me that these people are ready and they will be able to get me there on an elmo, in the next 6 weeks. He told me that i am unlikely to get a management position with me been out of the country.
So do i accept a job , and with me been in Canada i would be able to go to interviews face to face, and get the job i want , The problem is i would be using this job just to get me there, Do you think this is fair?????
The money is not that good , and i have a house that is for sale, but no takers as yet as the housing market here as all but stoped. I do have a bit of money to keep the mortgage going for a few months, but would need to earn more money if i was to keep it on Ie does not sell. Renting the house out is out of the question.