Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

What are my chances of application

Old Jul 22nd 2002, 8:26 pm
Just Joined

mira is an unknown quantity at this point
Default What are my chances of application

Education : I have both a diploma(3 years) and a degree(1year full-time). Both are recognized from commonwealth country. A Diploma gives 22 points. A Degree gives 20. I have both, I have to state them all? Usually will the higher point be awarded?

Language, I’m getting English as the main language with a total of 16 points. For French, I studied and took test in the school for about 3 years, I may take the French test, looking at ‘moderate’. Being optimistic, I target around 8. Total 24.

Experience . Between 3-4 years, ~19-21 points

For arranged employment, how do I find one? I’m doing computer programming, mostly Internet e-commerce development.

Other questions:
Under education, it says I need
1) Original Transcript in university-sealed envelopes
Does anyone who applied before submit this or use photocopies.. notarized?

2) Reference letter from employer. If cannot provide reference, provide a written explanation.
Does anyone who applied before hand in this?
I only have the appointment letter, how do I explain the reference letter?

Would appreciate your replies. Thanks
Old Jul 23rd 2002, 10:20 am
Yj Yap

Default Re: What are my chances of application

mira <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:<[email protected]>...
    > What are my chances of application
    >
    > Education : I have both a diploma(3 years) and a degree(1year full-time). Both are
    > recognized from commonwealth country. A Diploma gives 22 points. A Degree gives 20.
    > I have both, I have to state them all? Usually will the higher point be awarded?

Well regarding the education points, you have to read the requirements
carefully...u must have a certain level of degree AND number of years of education