what to do?

Old Apr 30th 2010, 9:38 am
Forum Regular

sarahburns is an unknown quantity at this point
Default what to do?

hello, hello,
i'm posting once again to express how lost i'm feeling at the moment and hoping to get some sort of advice.
for everyone who hasnt read any of my other posts yet:
my partner and i want to move to vancouver next year. we are currently in perth. he is an engineering geologist, im in my first year of studying anthropology in perth. he cant move to canada until feb, as he would have to pay his australian company lots of money back because they paid for his relocation to australia in the first place. i would like to continue studying in canada, but can only do it if we get residency (because of the fees and the fact that i couldnt work for the first 6 months). i am also considering switching to a different course (soo many ideas, so much confusion.. anthropology, graphic communication....).

now the main problem is that we assumed in the first place that my partners step-family in canada would give him 5 points, which wont happen. so now we're on 63 points, 65 in august when he will have 3 yrs of work experience. as claiming 2 points for basic french seems to be very hard, our only option seems to be pre-arranged employment.

how does one go about finding a job in canada from overseas? as he wont be able to relocate until february it seems impossible finding work for then.. once he finds job, it would probably still take a year or so for the PR to come through, right? so thatd mean that i couldnt start uni over there until maybe jan 2012...

sorry if this sounds confusing, but thats whats going on in my mind at the moment.

any help is much appreciated

thanks
Old May 3rd 2010, 3:51 pm
Forum Regular

Mermaid3011 has a spectacular aura aboutMermaid3011 has a spectacular aura aboutMermaid3011 has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: what to do?

O.k. one step at a time.