Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Waiting for that 'positive' LMO !!

Waiting for that 'positive' LMO !!

Old Jan 8th 2009, 4:50 pm
Just Joined

Billy Bear Badger is an unknown quantity at this point
Angry Waiting for that 'positive' LMO !!

I'm a newbie, so go gentle with me please !!

I applied for PR back in July '07 and received the High Commission standard letter it'll take 42 - 48 months to process !! We visited the Canadian Expo. in London last year to seek advice and I was told we could go out there on a work permit if I could get a job so I sent my CV to prospective employers and after two interviews with the same company in April '08 (Waterloo) & Aug '08 (Toronto), I have been successful with a job offer in Sept '08. based in Nova Scotia. My wife and I visited Nova Scotia (as we'd only been to Ontario before visiting relatives) and fell in love with the place. We discussed the processing times for a work permit (4 - 6 weeks) and thinking 2 and a half months should cover it we went for a December 1st start date with my new employer...that has been delayed as I need my employer to seek a 'positive' LMO before my WP can be issued....it took the H.C. 7 weeks to eventually come back and tell me about the required LMO ! My prospective employer has applied for the LMO and now we are being told this process can take up to 6 weeks...obviously these people don't have a clue on the stress this can cause. I suppose I've done the cardinal sin and finished my job here in the UK Nov'08 thinking all would be fine...muppet ! Anyway my reason for writing this is to let people know what can go wrong and the impact it can have...sat here twiddling my thumbs and waiting is doing my head-in....for those who are interested I will keep you posted.
Old Jan 8th 2009, 6:34 pm
Citizenship Nov 10 2016!!