Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Vancouver - Visas, Working, Criminal Rehabilitation

Vancouver - Visas, Working, Criminal Rehabilitation

Old Apr 20th 2010, 1:36 am
Just Joined

Composed is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Vancouver - Visas, Working, Criminal Rehabilitation

Folks

Looking at my options to live in the USA / Canada, and recently Canada has become more of an interest to me and my partner due to particular circumstances we face

Basically it breaks down like this:

1. My partner has a criminal record - stolen goods (without guilty knowledge) and possession of drugs (personal use, less than 30g).

Silly situation. Wrong place, wrong time. Could happen to anyone.

This conviction was from 13 years ago. What are the probabilities of being declared 'rehabilitated' and being granted a canadian visa?

2. I'm a lecturer in music production / audio engineering and also work freelance as a writer of music for film / tv / games etc...I'm looking at work opportunities in the US as well as Canada, and Vancouver particularly appeals due to its proximity of LA (I like the work opportunities over there but I don't particularly want to live there. Also, the fact that my partner is ineligible to enter the US so obviously would prefer Vancouver).

So my question is what are the potential pitfalls of living in Canada and potentially working in some capacity in the USA?

All very exploratory at this stage. I'm sure you guys can appreciated how open ended everything can be when looking at various solutions, so any help or guidance or concrete information would be fantastic!

Many Thanks

C
Old Apr 20th 2010, 2:33 am
SUPER MODERATOR