Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Is it true- no need to N/A in the Generic application?

Is it true- no need to N/A in the Generic application?

Old Jan 8th 2012, 11:07 am
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: London
Posts: 10
tim hunter is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Is it true- no need to N/A in the Generic application?

Hi guys!

I am sorry if this issue has already been discussed. I gather that there is no need to put N/A in the Generic application as it'd not validate if we left any field blank. Please let me know.

Cheers!
tim hunter is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2012, 11:35 am
  #2  
Account Closed
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,063
Dave n Ailsa is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is it true- no need to N/A in the Generic application?

LOL, we argued over this one when we were filling in our visa app.

I think the point is, if you leave anything blank, then they might assume that you missed it out, hence, the proccess cannot proceed.

However, you need to read EVERYTHING carefully, as sometimes it instructs you to write "none" etc.

Yes, it's a PITA
Dave n Ailsa is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2012, 12:14 pm
  #3  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: London
Posts: 10
tim hunter is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is it true- no need to N/A in the Generic application?

Originally Posted by Dave n Ailsa
LOL, we argued over this one when we were filling in our visa app.

I think the point is, if you leave anything blank, then they might assume that you missed it out, hence, the proccess cannot proceed.

However, you need to read EVERYTHING carefully, as sometimes it instructs you to write "none" etc.

Yes, it's a PITA
thanks a lot. Filling this application is not a rocket science but they have made it
frustratingly confusing. I am sorry but can you say whether you put N/A anywhere in your generic application at all?
tim hunter is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2012, 12:18 pm
  #4  
Account Closed
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,063
Dave n Ailsa is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is it true- no need to N/A in the Generic application?

Yes we did, but can't remember exactly where.

Which bit are you confused about and I'll look it up.
Dave n Ailsa is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2012, 12:51 pm
  #5  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: London
Posts: 10
tim hunter is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is it true- no need to N/A in the Generic application?

Originally Posted by Dave n Ailsa
Yes we did, but can't remember exactly where.

Which bit are you confused about and I'll look it up.
many thanks. good luck!
tim hunter is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2012, 2:30 pm
  #6  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: London
Posts: 10
tim hunter is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is it true- no need to N/A in the Generic application?

Originally Posted by tim hunter
many thanks. good luck!
Thanks a for your effort Dave. Basically, confusion is all about generic application as that is filled electronically and validated. Hence, I assume, we do not need to put N/A in this particular application as it'd not validate your application if you have left any field blank. Problem is I am not 100% sure about it and can't afford to take chances. Some even say that we must not put anything but signature and date when we fill it electronically.
Cheers!
Tim
tim hunter is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2012, 3:01 pm
  #7  
Account Closed
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,063
Dave n Ailsa is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is it true- no need to N/A in the Generic application?

Ahhh, I get you now.

I'm probably thinking of the parts that you print and then fill out by hand.

For example, there's a part which asks, "if you used a representative, did you blah blah blah?"

Well, we didn't use one, therefore how can we answer that question, lol.

But in answer to your original question, I believe you are correct.
Dave n Ailsa is offline  
Old Jan 8th 2012, 4:12 pm
  #8  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: London
Posts: 10
tim hunter is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is it true- no need to N/A in the Generic application?

well thanks once again. Fingers crossed and I am applying today. Have a wonderful day!
Tim
tim hunter is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.