Total noob seeks knowledge...

Old Oct 16th 2007, 8:07 am
Just Joined

Marble has a brilliant futureMarble has a brilliant futureMarble has a brilliant futureMarble has a brilliant futureMarble has a brilliant futureMarble has a brilliant futureMarble has a brilliant future
Default Total noob seeks knowledge...

Hi all, new poster here, but I've been lurking...

Mrs Marble and I are thinking seriously about a move away from the UK. Canada seems likely as she is half-Canadian. I'll try to explain our situation as well as poss, without rambling. I guess what I'm after is a thread full of priceless nuggets of info...

She's 31. We've been married for just over a year. No kids yet, but she's trying!
She was born in Canada to a British father and Canadian mother. (parents later split and she grew up in England with Dad. Mum died in 2000.)
She currently holds a British passport with the place-of-birth entered as Newcastle, Ontario. (Dual-citizenship? born sept '76)
She's a teacher in a primary school and has a B.Ed hons.

I, on the other hand, have no such thing.
I have done many jobs (electronics, intruder alarm install, LAN install, driver etc) Driver currently and in the throes of starting a wedding photography business. Nothing you'd call a career... Self employed at the moment.

We have the house we live in, and her 1st house (rented out at the mo.)

Can someone give me a basic overview of the hoops we'd have to jump through to emigrate?
I've been, probably wrongly, thinking it will be easy given the wife's situation.
Can she get a Canadian passport? Would that be a benefit?

I'm assuming she'd get a job before we moved and I would 'pick up work' once we were there. Anyone know if she'd need additional training/qualifications? (she mentioned needing to learn Canadian history as a subject..)

Work permit for me..?

I think that will do for now. Any knowledge/pearls of wisdom greatly appreciated..

Marble.

Last edited by Marble; Oct 16th 2007 at 8:22 am.