Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Are there any US citizen to Canada landed imigrant here?

Are there any US citizen to Canada landed imigrant here?

Old Feb 5th 2002, 4:24 am
Lorink

I would just like to know if has been anyone in this group who has or knows of somone
who used the landed immigrant procedures to be excepted to live in canada? Was this
because of a job offer in canada? or did you marry a canadian and work across the
border in the states "like in my case?"

What about the interview prosses if any?

James

Old Feb 5th 2002, 9:44 am
Meg Lamont

Hi James,

I immigrated from the United States, as a US Citizen. I came under the independent
category and was successful. I have a 4 year degree in Management Information Systems
& a minor in Business Administration. My former job was a Sr. MIS Technical Analyst.
(Fancy name for level 2 computer support) Anyhow, I came to Canada without a job
offer on my own. I did not require an interview and I did not have any problems with
my application as far as I know. I sent my completed application in to Buffalo in
June 1999 and a few months later, I got my medical forms, in December I had my
medical in Canada (only 100 bucks there vs. the 300 in the states) and then I got my
landing documents in January of 2000. Landed in October, just flew up to land then,
returned to St. Louis to pack my house, quit my job and moved in November 2000. My
fiance' at the time and I just got married in September 2001.

It is possible to get here on your own. When we, my fiance' and I looked at the
different ways to come and after reading posts in the news group, the best way for
me was the independent route. Yes, I think the sponsored way would have worked, but
there are a lot of things that were rather scary. First off, the sponsor is
responsible for you financially for the next 10 years. That's a pretty hefty