Spousal Visa

Old Dec 1st 2009, 10:05 am
Forum Regular

chobert is just really nicechobert is just really nicechobert is just really nicechobert is just really nicechobert is just really nicechobert is just really nicechobert is just really nicechobert is just really nicechobert is just really nicechobert is just really nicechobert is just really nice
Question Spousal Visa

Apologies if this information is right in front of my eyes but i'm a newbie here so please be gentle with me ... your help and support is appreciated

I'm British and currently live in London with my Canadian wife and two young children. We're considering emigrating to Canada and understand that to do this on a permanent basis I will need to apply for (and get) a spousal visa.
Our eldest child (3 yo) already has Canadian citezenship and we have applied for the same for our youngest (7 months).

I've downloaded the relevant forms from CIC and although at first glance look very complicated, they should be relatively straightforward to complete.

I guess I'd like some advice on a few points and how to prioritise what we do next.

Should we start the application process first before doing anything else? I don't really want to start job or house hunting before knowing that we'll be ok to move ... or will that be a formality?

Is there anyone else here with similar circumstances or has already been through the process? What are these 'visa' companies like and should we use them to ensure our application is completed properly - they seem expensive!

How long (roughly) will the process take? We're not in any particular hurry although would like to be settled by the end of 2010 or early 2011.

We're visiting relatives in Canada for Christmas this year and I know that we'll be gung-ho to get things moving on our return to London and certainly when I have to go back to work after the christmas break.