Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Sponsorship Via Common-law Partner for Canadian PR

Sponsorship Via Common-law Partner for Canadian PR

Old Sep 30th 2013, 9:07 am
Just Joined

Richardftw is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Sponsorship Via Common-law Partner for Canadian PR

Hey there,

I'm a British Resident and my partner is a Canadian Resident.

Me and my partner are looking into the best way to get me into Canada as a PR. Currently I'm on my 2nd IEC Visa, during my first we were not in a relationship for the full year I was in Canada. then we were in a Long distance relationship for ~1.5 Years and now on my 2nd IEC we moved in shortly after I arrived, Opened a joint bank account, pay the lease together and have been living together for 5 Months.

My understanding is that even though this is a commited long term relationship we still must wait until the 1 Year mark to apply for a Common-law Visa. If this is the case I'm hoping to get my 3rd and Final IEC next year during the 8-10 Month process for application and/or get a Visitors Visa.

I was wondering how the process of re-poling to get a Visitors Visa / issuing another IEC works?

Or if there are alternatives to doing it this way, My GF is self employed and I don't have any kind of University education, Unsure if that effects the process.

Any info would be hugely helpful as we REALLY don't wanna be long distance again.

Thanks,
Richard & Alyssa
Old Sep 30th 2013, 9:18 am
Banned

Siouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond repute