Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Skilled Worked Application, Category 2 - HRSDC Confirmation

Skilled Worked Application, Category 2 - HRSDC Confirmation

Old Dec 7th 2009, 3:55 am
Just Joined

Beakster is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Skilled Worked Application, Category 2 - HRSDC Confirmation

Hi,

I am currently working in Toronto on an Open Temp Work Permit I got through Bunac. It expired end of August 2010 and I would like to stay past that time so I am applying for Permanent Residence under the Federal Skilled Worker Class.

I have some questions and I have found the people in the call centre to be useless for answering them, so hoping you guys can help

So my situation is that I am a Computer Programmer, I came here in August and spent some time finding work. I am now in a good job with a big international company here in Toronto. I have a job offer for the job I am in so I would like to apply for the Skilled Worker visa under Category 2.

From IMM EG7000 PDF page 4
"you have an offer of arranged employment in Canada. The employment offer should be:
-in writing,
- indeterminate in duration, and
- meet the arranged employment factor described in this guide."
So my offer is in writing and indeterminate in duration. When I follow the link to the guide it takes me to page 14, where they have 3 categories, each worth 10 points. But you can only get a maximum of 10 points for the section, so only one needs apply.

The first says "If: You are currently working in Canada on a work permit" And:
Your work permit is valid when you apply for a permanent resident visa and
 Your employer has made an offer to give you a permanent job if your application is successful.
Note: Your work permit must be valid at the time your permanent resident visa is issued.