Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Self assessment says not eligible for fsw? Also can I apply for visa before nurse reg

Self assessment says not eligible for fsw? Also can I apply for visa before nurse reg

Old Jun 17th 2014, 7:04 pm
Just Joined

Kara81 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Self assessment says not eligible for fsw? Also can I apply for visa before nurse reg

Hi all, my family and I are beginning the visa process to immigrate to canada, I have completed the online self assessment questionnaire however it is coming back that unfortunately I am not eligible to apply for a PR visa, I have counted the points myself and seem to get the 67points, would be grateful for any advice.

I am 27 years old (married before 22, which I saw was a question, does that make a difference?)
I am a registered Nurse, have completed my 3 year diploma (currently completing a degree course to upgrade to BSc level nursing but wish to apply for visa before that is completed in October 2015.
I have 6 years full time work experience as an RN in the UK.
I have completed my Ielts with a score of 7.5 in all categories except listening with a score of 8. Therefore I have assumed I have high proficiency?
We have no family in canada and no candian education.

Is there an obvious reason why I do not qualify for a PR visa?

Am I correct in saying that applying via the FSW route gives PR status?

If I have miscalculated something and I am Eligible to apply for a PR visa via the FSW route can I apply for the visa before gaining nurse registration? Our intention is to move to ontario, I am aware that my degree is required to nurse in Ontario and therefore do not wish to apply to CNO before my degree is complete in October 2015. I am also aware that CNO registration is a long process with updates to hours in certain modules on my behalf very likely.

Thankyou.
Old Jun 17th 2014, 7:10 pm
SUPER MODERATOR