Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Questions about immigrating as as skilled worker

Questions about immigrating as as skilled worker

Old Dec 8th 2004, 9:08 am
Just Joined

martinward1234 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Questions about immigrating as as skilled worker

Hi all,

Sorry if you have read this on a popular newsgroup. This is the first time I've posted to this group, and will probably be the first of many!!

First, a little background...

I'm a UK citizen. I don't have a degree but I did complete 12 years full time education plus a further 2 years at college and I have some IT trade certification (Cisco / CompTIA / Microsoft).

My partner (commonlaw) has 13 years full time education and has a 1 year diploma in Graphic and Web Design.

We both only speak English, and are 27 and 30 years old. I have about 8 years work experience working in computer networking / security field.

We are both very keen to move on and start a new life abroad. I have visited Canada on 7 seperate occaisions and like it very much; therefore it is my preferred choice.

We would like to get the ball moving sooner than later, however as we stand we only score (to my calculations) 65 points, 2 points short of the required 67. Does this mean our application would simply fail??

Or are there other alternative options open to us??

I've read a little about the Provincial Nomination Program, is this something we should look into??

Or would going out on a temporary work permit for a year (which would then give us the extra points needed to later apply as a skilled worker) be recommended??

Your suggestions and experiences would be most appreciated.

Many Thanks
Martin
Old Dec 8th 2004, 9:28 am
little snowy owl