Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Please help, international student apply for PR in the U.S

Please help, international student apply for PR in the U.S

Old Oct 20th 2002, 5:36 pm
mmqqd

Default Please help, international student apply for PR in the U.S

Hi, I got my master degree from U.S. Now I am filling for Canada PR as a “Skilled Worker�, but during the Self-Assessment, I got confused by the points system. Can anybody give me some suggestion on the following questions? Thanks in advanced.

1. Can US education be equivalent to Canada education? Can I get 5 points on my U.S master degree for the part of “Adaptability�?

2. For English proficiency, English is not my native language. I have been staying in the U.S for study and work for about 4 years. Should I use high proficiency or moderate proficiency? Can I give myself 16 points? Do I still need to take the IELTS test?

3. I am currently working in the U.S. Can US working experience be equivalent to Canada experience? Can I get 5 points on my U.S master degree for the part of “Adaptability�?

4. Does no-pay part-time work count for work experience? I did volunteer part-time work for my school projects, but it’s related to my study area, my current work and also the position I am applying for in Canadian PR application.

5. Does full-time paid internship count for work experience?

Thank you very much.

Old Oct 20th 2002, 5:53 pm
BE Enthusiast

bighead is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Please help, international student apply for PR in the U.S

1. no..