Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Permanent Resident Visa valid to date??

Wikiposts

Permanent Resident Visa valid to date??

Old Jun 16th 2009, 12:43 pm
Just Joined

Skippy88 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Permanent Resident Visa valid to date??

Hi guys,

I have applied for permanent residence via Buffalo as I am a UK citizen with PNP status here in British Columbia where I have been living since Jan 2008 on a temporary work permit.

Buffalo then transferred the files to New York and I have completed the medicals etc.

Today I received a letter saying that "processing of your application appears complete" and asking me to submit my passport and 4 photos to New York within 60 days for the issuance of my visa.

Question 1) once I have done this does this mean I am a Permanent Resident? or is there more to do? will I get a Permanent Residence card sent back to me immediately?

Question 2) can anyone explain why the letter says on the bottom "Based on current information your Permanent Resident Visa will be valid until 24th March 2010" ????? why is there a valid to date so soon???
Old Jun 16th 2009, 1:00 pm
Forum Regular

nuin has a spectacular aura aboutnuin has a spectacular aura aboutnuin has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Permanent Resident Visa valid to date??

1: After you receive the passport back, you land and acquire PR. Then you get the card.

2: That's the date of your medical, one year later.

Last edited by nuin; Jun 16th 2009 at 1:01 pm. Reason: added some words
Old Jun 16th 2009, 1:14 pm
Just Joined

Originally Posted by nuin
1: After you receive the passport back, you land and acquire PR. Then you get the card.

2: That's the date of your medical, one year later.
Hi Nuin