British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Immigration & Citizenship (Canada) (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-canada-33/)
-   -   Overwhelmed Newbie! (https://britishexpats.com/forum/immigration-citizenship-canada-33/overwhelmed-newbie-937812/)

VivM Mar 25th 2021 10:53 pm

Overwhelmed Newbie!

Hi everyone. I am so eager to find a way into Canada, but at the moment, even a few days visit is impossible and anything more permanent seems to be more difficult than climbing K2 in a blizzard in shorts!
Anyway, I'm here to read, and learn and try whatever I can to be able to relocate to Alberta ideally....or B.C. .....here's a bit of background.....
I'm 59 (no idea how that happened!), widowed 4 years ago, a semi retired Registered Nurse with my 2 sons, both PRs in Calgary. I've over 35 years experience in both clinical and managerial roles in the NHS. The process to register my nursing qualification in any Province seems to take years, and whilst I may have up to 10 years working potential left in me, half of that could be taken just waiting for the whole process to complete!
So it looks like the emerging plan is full retirement, apply for a parent/grandparent supervisa whilst trying for PGP sponsorship. Maybe it'll be easier to work on provincial nurse re registration from within the Province.... but the important thing is being with my boys!

Any tips, hints, suggestions, stories to be told will be very welcome!!
Fingers crossed we can all be where we need to be as soon as possible!

PMM Mar 26th 2021 2:30 am

Re: Overwhelmed Newbie!

Hi

Originally Posted by VivM (Post 12987809)
Hi everyone. I am so eager to find a way into Canada, but at the moment, even a few days visit is impossible and anything more permanent seems to be more difficult than climbing K2 in a blizzard in shorts!