Open work permit/residency

Old Oct 23rd 2012, 8:02 pm
Just Joined

JanandJackie is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Open work permit/residency

Hi!, I am a permanent resident, currently under examination as I have been away from Canada for 30m years and I have (apparently) breached the terms of my residency - the upshot is I can't leave the country until my case is decided. My wife is here with me (in BC) on a visitor visa since Jule 2011, which has already been extended once but is about to expire. She cannot work legally without an Open-Work permit/visa. She has applied for one but is not expecting a reply until January 2013.

We are both very worried that if she is not granted the OWP/V she may have to return to the UK, while my positin hangs in a similar balance, but is not under such a time deadline.

I am a self-employted artist, hold a Canadian social security number/card, and grew up in Alberta from 1967 onwards when my family emigrated to the Edmonton area - at that time there was a positive immigration to Canada as they needed skilled people - my Dad was a draughtsman. I returned to the UK to attend Art College, and ended up staying for years.

Now the kids are adults/have their own lives, we are on our own and both decided it was time to return to Canada and enjoy our lives. The 'Canadian Dream'.

With the above worrying us we are becoming increasingly uncomfortable about the different permutations of what could happen. There is always a financial implication too, which dosen't help.

The way the beuracracy wroks here seems to be arbitrary at best, so we're increasingly feeling 'lost' and steeling ourselves in case we have to return to the UK and the Canadian dream is over.

I realize this is a long-shot.....Can anybody shed any light on what to expect, or have had a similar experience.

Any help greatly received!!
Old Oct 23rd 2012, 8:31 pm
SUPER MODERATOR