Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Ontario College Diploma or Ontario College Graduate Certificate?

Ontario College Diploma or Ontario College Graduate Certificate?

Old Oct 29th 2013, 11:58 pm
Just Joined

toronto12 is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Ontario College Diploma or Ontario College Graduate Certificate?

I previously looked into getting employment in Ontario, due to age and job issues it was not possible

My desire to relocate remains intact, so the only realistic route available to me is studying in Canada, graduate from the course I study from and then work after graduation via the Post-Graduation Work Permit Program (PGWPP) and then find skilled work for 12 months and the apply for PR on that basis via the Canada Experience Class (CEC).

I have an undergraduate degree, (2:2), which is not good enough for genuine Masters level study at all of the Canadian universities that I have looked at.

That leaves the Ontario College Diploma or Ontario College Graduate Certificate. The diploma is at the undergraduate level, the certificate is at the graduate level.

The issues at hand (to my knowledge) are the length of study and the level of study.

In order to be eligible to get a post-graduate work permit of up to 3 years, the course length needs to be of 2 years duration. Most certificate programs are only of 1 year duration and the work permit reflects that duration, e.g. 12 months of study gives a 12 month work permit. From my understanding if I apply for the Diploma level course (which is usually of the 2 year duration) then questions might be raised as to why I am coming to Canada to obtain a lower level qualification than what I already have. I do not want my study permit application to be rejected!

There are some Ontario College Graduate Certificates which are of 2 year duration but they are not my first choice in terms of subject area.

Should I: