Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Occupation - How do CIC know which?

Occupation - How do CIC know which?

Old Oct 27th 2005, 3:35 am
Forum Regular

Muncles will become famous soon enoughMuncles will become famous soon enough
Default Occupation - How do CIC know which?

Hi all,

Just filling forms out and getting a little paranoid. :scared: I think I've gone snow blind!

I was employed for 8 years out of the last 10 as a Chemist, but now I'm a Science Teacher. How do the CIC know which occupation you are applying under as I don't seem to have a form that supplies them with this information.

I have in front of me:

1. Application for PR
2. Schedule 1
3. Additional Family Info
4. Schedule 3

I filled in Schedule 3 and it got me thinking... how do they know which occupation you are applying under?

The reason I ask is because I know that my training route into teaching is not recognised by CIC. Should I just state my previous occupation as a chemist or put it on and provide a statement saying that I wish to be considered as a Chemist not a Teacher?

Damn forms....I thought I was doing OK until I started this one.
Old Oct 27th 2005, 4:05 am
Here and happy at last

gooding has a brilliant futuregooding has a brilliant futuregooding has a brilliant futuregooding has a brilliant futuregooding has a brilliant futuregooding has a brilliant futuregooding has a brilliant future
Default Re: Occupation - How do CIC know which?

You need to quote the NOC code that your occupation falls under, this is one of the first things you need to do. If you have had two occupations and they fall under different codes you can include info within the application regarding the one, but you need to put the main one down, that gets the most points for work experience.

codes.http://www23.hrdc-drhc.gc.ca/2001/e/.../welcome.shtml