Nursing in Nova Scotia

Old Jan 2nd 2008, 4:20 am
Account Closed

highlandspirit8 is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Nursing in Nova Scotia

Hi all,
can anyone help me with nurse titles and job descriptions in NS. I am about to send my cv out to the Health Authorities in Nova Scotia, but am not sure what type of job to apply for.
At present I am a practice nurse working in a doctors surgery, I used to be a district nurse and prior to that an A&E nurse.
Are there any nurses working out there that can enlighten me.
I don't have any further qualifications other than my RN1 though I am waiting for the results of the Asthma course I did last year. And I have recently done a course on addictions. I am also a CPR instructor.
I have worked in hospitals (cardiac surgery, and general medical) but not recently.
Linda
Old Jan 2nd 2008, 5:39 am
BE Forum Addict

destinationnovascotia has a reputation beyond reputedestinationnovascotia has a reputation beyond reputedestinationnovascotia has a reputation beyond reputedestinationnovascotia has a reputation beyond reputedestinationnovascotia has a reputation beyond reputedestinationnovascotia has a reputation beyond reputedestinationnovascotia has a reputation beyond reputedestinationnovascotia has a reputation beyond reputedestinationnovascotia has a reputation beyond reputedestinationnovascotia has a reputation beyond reputedestinationnovascotia has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Nursing in Nova Scotia

I have recently secured a job out there. To be honest, most of my initial enquiries resulted in the answer that I should get my training accredited first and then apply as it can be a long process.

Different employers recruit in different ways. For example, I just contacted the nurses recruiters in Bridgewater (South Shore Health) who were happy for me to come in for an initial interview and offered me a post on the spot....no particular advert....just generally short staffed.