Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

NOC Code Confusion - Help Required

NOC Code Confusion - Help Required

Old May 10th 2016, 3:28 am
Just Joined

andrewmarks31 is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile NOC Code Confusion - Help Required

Hey Guys!

I am in preparing myself for a Canadian immigration. I have one question I would like to clarify.

My degree is in Electrical Engineering. However, I have been doing a software based job in telecommunication sector since more than 6 years. From a NOC list, I can see the NOC Code '2173 Software engineers and designers' fits ok with me considering it has mentioned a role 'telecommunications software engineer' in the example titles (link below).

Unit Group

But NOC Code 2173 also requires candidates to have a degree in computer engineering. Please let me know if I can still apply?

I would like to thank you for reading.
Old May 10th 2016, 3:32 am
SUPER MODERATOR

christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: NOC Code Confusion - Help Required

Hi, and welcome to BE.

Don't worry about the related job titles, or the requirements - neither actually matter when it comes to choosing your NOC code.

The vital thing is making sure that you do at least half the duties listed under the 'main duties' section, and that you meet the criteria in the opening paragraph, as that's what CIC will be looking for and what you'll need to prove via things like employment references, job contracts, etc.